Taming Sian-Rotam

Outshined hit 60 yesterday and with that, I went to Winterspring to tame Sian-Rotam. I had been looking forward to grabbing him as a pet for a while, given his uniqueness and the challenge of taming him, so I was happy to finally have a chance to do so. More after the jump…

Sian-Rotam is not the most difficult beast to tame, but he does require a little planning. In the WOWHead link above, the comment from “RedMageNeko” provides a concise how-to on taming this cat.

In my case, i grabbed an owl and summoned Shy-Rotam. She actually went down before Sian emerged, so I didn’t have to juggle the two of them. I put down a trap and abandoned the owl, then started taming. The trap wore off before tame was complete and Sian feared me. I put down another trap, began taming, had 1 second left in the tame, but again, Sian is free, another fear.

Third time is the charm: trap him, tame completes, and he is mine. I name him “Hothlepoya” which is Creek for “crazy war hunter.” The meaning is appropriate, and there is also the association to a certain well-known planet which fits him since he comes from Winterspring.

WoWScrnShot_100408_230901

5 Responses

  1. Congrats ! I’m currently trying to get Sian-Rotam myself but he didn’t spawn for me yet.

  2. I have read that there’s a glitch where he won’t spawn and you have to keep trying. Good luck!

  3. Well, I don’t think I’ll be able to tame him for now. After more than 20 tries, still no Sian-Rotam. Maybe you need to be lower than level 67 ? I’ll start to look for an another pet. 🙂

  4. Wow, sorry to hear that. Perhaps Shy-Rotam is going down too fast before Sian can spawn?

  5. I don’t think so … I’ve even tried with no weapons to slow it down. I’ll try with another hunter someday. 😉

Leave a Reply

