Sage

Over the weekend, WoWInsider profiled Sage, a unit frames add on. I’ve tried out a lot of different unit frames: AGUF, X-Perl, PitBull, and Perl.

I can’t remember why I quit using AGUF, I think it was causing performance problems, but not sure so don’t quote me on that. X-Perl looks great and offers a lot of information, but for me too much information. PitBull crashes my game every time I install it; although I like the idea of PitBull and its configurability, my game won’t run with it. Perl has been my default for quite a while: it’s attractive, provides the information that I want, and is solid. I especially like being able to place the party frames in a horizontal row above my action bars since it allows me to see more easily everyone’s health and I can move between the frames and buttons more quickly.

Now, one of the things I like about Pitbull is that you can place your party frames in a square so I’ve been looking for another unit frames add on that would allow me to do that: and so enter Sage.

With Sage, you can move each party frame individually: they are not stuck together, thus you can place them wherever you want, in whatever layout you want. Sage also provides larger numbers on its bars and is very clear and simplistic in its design: thus, it’s easy to read. Like other unit frames, Sage provides a deficit number for health and percentage. I’ve only used it a day, though, so I’ll have to see how it works out, but so far, so good.

Update: After a few days of use, I am still liking this unit frame. One drawback is that it doesn’t incorporate Druid Bar (mana bar while in feral form) as Perl does, so I’ll need to reinstall that addon. Otherwise, I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something simple and functional.

Leave a Reply

